Hello to all my Gfreers out there on the web! I hope the day is treating you well!
I am happy to say that I have officially defeated my jet lag enemy and am back to a [relatively] normal sleep pattern since coming back to the States.
One thing that I mentioned in my previous blog posts, "Gluten Free in Hong Kong", was that I frequently ate at many dim sum restaurants while I was there. Since I assumed that many Chinese are not aware of celiac disease, let alone severe allergic reactions to wheat/gluten (and not in the form of anaphylactic shock), I had to eat smartly and cautiously in order to avoid cross contamination and other hidden forms of wheat in dim sum.
Dim sum, if you don't already know about it's wonderful existence, is a traditional Cantonese tea time meal in which you are served a plethora of bite sized or individually portioned food served in steamers or small plates. In Cantonese Chinese, it is pronounced, yum cha, which quite literally means to 'drink tea'. It is called this because you drink tea throughout the meal while eating. Dim sum is now popularized in the States so you don't need to fly all the way to Hong Kong to get a taste (although the dim sum in the States really can't compare to authentic fresh ingredients from HK)!
Unfortunately for gfreers, much of the food in dim sum is off limits since many of the dishes are fried and covered with batter, drenched in soy sauce, or are originally made of wheat like buns and pastries.
BUT, never fear because there are foods that are safe to eat in dim sum and still offer lots of authentic flavor and yummy goodness! And now I present to you this all-intensive guide to safe gfree dim sum eatery!
SAFE MAIN DISHES
|A slice of the 8 Treasures rice. This one is pan-fried!|